I gave blood…

Yesterday I watched in shock as two bombs went off at the finish line of the famed Boston Marathon. Mentally, I never expected to see such a thing on American soil again. But that is not what this blog is about. What it IS about is humans.  Compassion, kindness, generosity of humans. Selfless-ness, bravery and courage. I saw all of those things on my tv like so many others did. I was horrified by the injuries. As of now the death toll is at 3 which is three too many and yet I expected that number to be so much higher. I sat in my living room wondering what I could do to help. That’s when someone mentioned the call for blood donations and the American Red Cross. I looked online that night, found a place to go to and set up my appointment. That’s where I was this morning – donating my blood. Well actually I donated a ‘double’ of red blood cells because I am an O- blood type. I have no doubt that my donation will help someone. It took an hour of my time and seemed like such a small thing but when I left I was assured my gift was needed and would be used. I think I will make a habbit of donating now. Boston, I’ve never seen you in person but just as I did for the victims at Sandy Hook, I cry for you.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

